HETL Global Communities

Executive Advisory Board

Exemplary Leaders in Higher Education

HETL Organizational Chart

The HETL Executive Advisory Board (EAB) provides advice to the Office of Executive Director (OED) on managerial matters. The EAB consists of high level educational leaders from a cross section of institutions and countries. Whereas the HETL Board of Directors is HETL’s governing board, the EAB is a managerial board that plays an advisory role to the Executive Director on matters of policy and strategy formation and implementation as well as critical operational concerns. The EAB provides advice and insight to the Executive Director, serving as a sounding board and sharing their knowledge and experience as executive leaders, academic scholars, and innovative educators. Thus, the board plays an important role in helping HETL achieve its vision and mission.

Vision, Mission, and Shared Values

Vision: Recognizing the centrality of student-focused teaching and learning, the EAB and HETL will play a major role in developing global educational leadership capacity and will be recognized as a leader in advancing this area.

Mission: To advance student-focused teaching and learning, the EAB will serve as an advocate for and provide advice to the OED on managerial matters concerning the strategic and operational functioning of the HETL Association.

Shared Values: To help fulfill the board’s vision and mission, the EAB adheres to and promotes the shared leadership values of global outreach, student advocacy, and capacity building.

Board Members


Chair and Vice Chair for July 1, 2015 to June 30, 2017

Chair: Professor Craig Mahoney






Vice Chair: Professor Heather Cavanagh






The Chair of the HETL Executive Advisory Board shall serve a term of two years. Each operating year is from July 1 through June 30, to coincide with HETL’s operating year. The Vice-Chair shall also serve a term of two years and shall, pending approval of the HETL Executive Director, automatically become Chair when the Chair position becomes vacant. The Chair and Vice-Chair shall work in cooperation with the Office of Executive Director to provide leadership and direction for the Board. Responsibilities shall include communication with Board members on matters relevant to the purpose of the Board and may include leading and facilitating discussions with the Board on the development of new proposals for future research topics and proposed new initiatives within the scope of the Board.


John Anchan

Dr. John P. Anchan

Executive Director at EISA Non-profit (1992-1996), Director Of Education at University of Winnipeg (...Read More


Dr. Lloyd Armstrong

University Professor and Provost Emeritus. He served as USC Provost and Senior Vice President for Ac...Read More


Dr. Lori Breslow

Lori Breslow is the founding Director of the Teaching & Learning Laboratory (TLL) at the Massachuset...Read More


Dr. Liz Burd

Pro Vice-Chancellor of Learning & Teaching, Office of the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic), Aca...Read More


Gina Burkhardt

Gina Burkhardt is executive vice president of AIR, one of the largest behavioral and social science ...Read More

John Carfora

Dr. John M. Carfora

Dr. Carfora holds graduate degrees from a number of universities, including The London School of Eco...Read More


Dr. Heather Cavanagh

Acting Executive Dean, Faculty of Science at Charles Sturt University (June 2012 – April 2013), Ac...Read More


Dr. Sanford Chandler

Assistant Commissioner, Office of Global Initiatives, at Technical College System of Georgia, USA. C...Read More


Dr. Stephen Dinham

Professor Stephen Dinham OAM PhD is Chair of Teacher Education and Director of Learning and Teaching...Read More


Dr. Paula Donson

Global Training & Development Director at Unisys (1983 – 1989), Director, Management & Organizatio...Read More


Eva Egron-Polak

Secretary-General and Executive Director of the International Association of Universities (IAU), an ...Read More


Anya Eskildsen

Managing Director of Niels Brock Copenhagen Business College; member of the board of Tryghedsgruppen...Read More


Mary Lou Forward

Mary Lou Forward is the Executive Director of the OpenCourseWare Consortium, providing leadership fo...Read More


Dr. Francine Glazer

Francine Glazer, Assistant Provost and Director, Center for Teaching and Learning at New York Instit...Read More


Dr. Nancy Hensel

President at University of Maine at Presque Isle (1999 – 2004),Executive Officer at Council on Und...Read More


Dr. Muriel A. Howard

Dr. Muriel A. Howard was named president of AASCU in April 2009. She is the first African-American t...Read More


Nick Klomp

Professor Nick Klomp is the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Education) at the University of Canberra, respon...Read More


Dr. Craig Mahoney

Principal and Vice-Chancellor of University of the West of Scotland.Professor Mahoney has had a dist...Read More


Dr. Mandla Makhanya

Professor Mandla Makhanya is a vice chancellor of the University of South Africa and the treasurer o...Read More


Dr. Pamela Matthews

Vice Provost for Academic Affairs at Texas A&M University.Dr. Mattews’ administrative experien...Read More


Dr. Robbie Melton

Associate Vice Chancellor of eLearning and Emerging Mobilization Technology at the Tennessee Board o...Read More

Santa Ono

Dr. Santa Ono

Professor of Pediatrics and Biology and 28th President of the University of Cincinnati; Professor at...Read More

Kavita Pandit

Dr. Kavita Pandit

Kavita Pandit is Associate Provost for International Education at the University of Georgia. In this...Read More


Barbara-Jane Paris

President at National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP) and Principal at Canyon Vis...Read More


Dr. Richard Penny

Vice Chancellor, University of Washington Bothell.Dr. Richard Penny joined the University of Washing...Read More


Dr. Colin Potts

Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education Colin Potts oversees offices and programs affecting undergr...Read More


Danutė Rasimavičienė

President at SPACE – European Network for Business Studies and Languages....Read More


Penny Renwick

Pro-Vice Chancellor for Quality and Development at Manchester Metropolitan University.Penny initiall...Read More


Stefanie Rixecker

Assistant Vice-Chancellor (Scholarship & Research) at Lincoln University New Zealand....Read More


Dr. Mary Deane Sorcinelli

Associate Provost for Faculty Development at University of Massachusetts Amherst.Prior to joining UM...Read More


Dr. András Szűcs

Secretary General at The European Distance and E-learning Network (EDEN).Dr. András Szucs (1956), g...Read More


Dr. Richard Tafalla

Assistant Vice President for Scholarship and Faculty Development at Utah Valley University, USA....Read More

Search HETL Portal

Signup to HETL Newsletter

Become a Member

Become a Member