HETL Global Communities

IHETL Editorial Advisory Board

Exemplary Leaders in Higher Education

HETL Organizational Chart

The Innovations in Higher Education Teaching and Learning Editorial Advisory Board (IHETL EAB) consists of notable academic scholars and writers who provide advice on the direction of the Innovations in Higher Education Teaching and Learning (IHETL) book series. HETL’s publishing focus includes those areas related to transforming teaching and learning and improving educational outcomes around the world.

Series Editor: Dr. Patrick Blessinger, International HETL Association, USA

Series Publisher: Emerald Group Publishing

IHETL Series Page

Vision, Mission, and Shared Values

Vision: To publish advanced research and scholarship on innovative teaching and learning practices in higher education.

Mission: To provide a forum for a diverse set of voices to disseminate their research in the field of global higher education and teaching and learning.

Shared Values: To fully fulfill the board’s vision and mission, IHETL supports the highest levels of academic research and scholarship as well as practices that promote the democratization of publishing.

Purpose of Series

The purpose of the series is to publish advanced research and scholarship on innovative teaching and learning practices in higher education. The main objectives of this series are to: 1) present how innovative teaching and learning practices are being used in higher education institutions across a wide variety of disciplines and countries, 2) present the latest theories, models, paradigms, frameworks, and concepts that educators should consider when adopting, implementing, assessing, and evaluating innovative teaching and learning practices, and, 3) consider the implications of theory and practice on policy, strategy, and leadership. This series will appeal to anyone in higher education who is involved in the teaching and learning process from any discipline, institutional type, or nationality.

For description of all volumes published to date and forthcoming volumes, see IHETL Series Page.


Board Members


Chair and Vice Chair for July 1, 2015 to June 30, 2017

Chair: Dr. Barbara Cozza






Vice Chair: Professor Milton Cox

Milt Cox





The Chair of the IHETL Editorial Advisory Board shall serve a term of two years. Each operating year is from July 1 through June 30, to coincide with HETL’s operating year. The Vice Chair shall also serve a term of two years and shall, pending approval of the HETL Executive Director, automatically become Chair when the Chair position becomes vacant. The Chair and Vice Chair shall work in cooperation with the Office of Executive Director to provide leadership and direction for the Board. Responsibilities shall include communication with Board members on matters relevant to the purpose of the Board and may include leading and facilitating discussions with the Board on the development of new proposals for future book topics and proposed new initiatives within the scope of the Board.

Ken Bain

Dr. Ken Bain

President, Best Teachers Institute, Ken Bain spent much of his academic career at Vanderbilt, Northw...Read More

John Carfora

Dr. John M. Carfora

Dr. Carfora holds graduate degrees from a number of universities, including The London School of Eco...Read More


Dr. Yin Cheong Cheng

Professor Yin Cheong CHENG is Vice-President (Research and Development) and Chair Professor of Leade...Read More

Milt Cox

Dr. Milton Cox

Dr. Cox is Director for Teaching Effectiveness at Miami University, where he founded and directed th...Read More


Dr. Barbara Cozza

Barbara Cozza, Ph.D., is an Associate Professor, Assistant Chairperson and Program Director for the ...Read More


Dr. Teddi Fishman

...Read More


Dr. David Goldstein

Professor David S. Goldstein teaches American and ethnic studies as a senior lecturer in the Interdi...Read More


Dr. Norm Jones

Norm has published approximately forty-one scholarly articles and ten books including The Elizabetha...Read More


Dr. Helena Lim

Dr Helena Lim is an independent researcher and consultant with over 20 years of experience in UK hig...Read More


Dr. Mandla Makhanya

Professor Mandla Makhanya is a vice chancellor of the University of South Africa and the treasurer o...Read More


Dr. Jerry Masty

Associate Professor, Department of Veterinary Biosciences at The Ohio State University. Research int...Read More


Dr. Marcia Mentkowski

Senior Scholar of Educational Research, Chair Research and Evaluation Council and Professor of Psych...Read More

Luisa Soares

Dr. Luísa Soares

Assistant Professor of Psychology at University of Madeira, director of Psychology course and post g...Read More


Dr. Lorraine Stefani

Lorraine Stefani is Professor of Higher Education Strategic Engagement at the University of Auckland...Read More

Denise Stockley

Dr. Denise Stockley

Professor and Interim Director, Centre for Teaching and Learning at Queen’s University, Canada. Dr...Read More


Dr. Peter Taylor

Director of the Transformative Education Research Group (TERG) at Curtin University. TERG specialize...Read More


Dr. Carol A. Tomlinson

Carol Ann Tomlinson is William Clay Parrish Jr. Professor and Chair of Educational Leadership, Found...Read More


Dr. Olga G. Vetrova

...Read More


Dr. Linda Watts

Professor at University of Washington, Bothell. Her work has appeared in many publications such as W...Read More


Dr. Rupert Wegerif

Professor Rupert Wegerif is Director of Research for the Graduate School of Education.His research i...Read More

Search HETL Portal

Signup to HETL Newsletter

Become a Member

Become a Member